Skip to main content

Research: Author Metrics

Library support for postgraduate students and researchers

Contents of this page

  • h-index
  • Author level metrics through:
    • Scopus database
    • Scival database
    • Web of Science database
    • Research Online (ECU's Repository)
    • Google Scholar

 

Author Level Metrics - through Scopus database

Scopus provides Author metrics at both the article level and at author level:

Author level metrics

  • In Scopus, search for a specific author either in the AUTHOR SEARCH or DOCUMENT SEARCH (then select Author) search option

 

 

  • Metrics provided on an author's Scopus author Identifier page:

 

  • Documents written by that author
    by source title, h-index, citations, co-authors, document type, by year, by subject area
     
  • Citations
    total citation by x documents, by year
     
  • h-index
    Rates a researcher’s performance based on number of publications and the number citations each article receives.
    eg h=10 indicates that 10 of the author’s publications have received at least 10 citation each


Author and Article metrics are also available when when viewing an ARTICLE's Scopus page.

  • select an article listed in the results list
  • when the article's Scopus page is open, look to the right of the column to view the following author and article metrics:
     
    • Citation Count & citation graph:
      number of citation to this article by other items which have been indexed by Scopus
       
    • Citation Benchmarking
      the citations of this article benchmarked against other similar articles in that subject field. Percentile position of that article compared to the average for similar articles: 99th percentile is high, and indicates an article in the top 1% globally
       
    • Mendelay downloads:
      number of Mendeley readers who have downloaded this article, their discipline, academic status and country
       
  • Follow this author register to receive citation alerts whenever this author is cited

Author level metrics - through SciVal

Resource: SciVal Metrics Guidebook

SciVal is based on output and usage data from Scopus, and the usage data from Scopus and ScienceDirect are updated monthly.

For each selected metric in the Benchmarking module, you can choose which types of publications to include in the analysis.

Citation Counts - total citations

Citations per Publications - citations for each output

Field Weighted Citation Impact -

  • This allows comparisons across disciplines
  • The ratio of citations received relative to the expected world average for the subject field, publication type and publication year.
  • A Field-Weighted Citation Impact of 1.00 indicates that the publications have been cited at world average for similar publications
  • A Field-Weighted Citation Impact of >1.00 indicates that the publications have been cited at above world average for similar publications (e.g. FWA 1.5 indicates outputs have been cited 50% above average)
  • A Field-Weighted Citation Impact of <1.00 indicates that the publications have been cited below world average for similar publications (e.g. FWA0.5 indicates outputs have been cited 50% below average)


 

Author level metrics - through Google Scholar profiles

  • authors wishing to view their metrics on Google Scholar need to sign up for a Google Scholar profile
     
  • from their profile, authors need to claim their publications which are listed on Google Scholar


Metrics provided in Google Scholar include:

  • number of citations
  • h-index
  • i10-index
  • co-authors

Note: The citation count for a item can disappear if the citing document goes off-line (i.e. is no longer listed on Google Scholar). To be on the safe side, you may wish to download the citations received for a specific item.

Research Online - Author metrics

The 2 main metrics available for ECU authors on Research Online are Altmetrics and the Author Dashboard

1. Altmetrics

  • Altmetrics (alternative metrics) supplements traditional citation counts from journals by tracking readership of your article from an alternative range of sources of citation such as blogs, social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, Pinterest, media, public policy mentions, Mendeley, Pubpeer, Pubons, Wikipedia, etc.
  • On Research Online (excluding theses) only items which have been picked up by Altmetric displays the "doughnut" Altmetric badge
  • more information is available on the website What are altmetrics?

How do you improve your Altmetric score?

  • publish your article as Open Access in order to increase readership
  • if you have not published in a  open access journal, many publishers now all authors to post a copy of their author-accepted-copy version of their paper in their institutional repository i.e. in Research Online. Just send us a copy and we will do the copyright checks for you.
  • increase the public visibility of your publications by sharing and promoting your articles online on social media by liking, tweeting or sharing your articles. Try to embed the DOI of your publication so it can be easily tracked

2. Author Dashboard on Research Online

  • click on My Account as you will need to register and sign-in to view your author dashboard
  • if not all of your articles are displayed, check the date coverage of your report or your articles may be registered under different accounts (e.g. emails). Please contact researchonline@ecu.edu.au if you wish to merge your accounts
  • the dashboard provides readership for your works on Research Online & author will receive email updates on their readership
  • Access details available include:
    • number of downloads
    • institutions (type of institutions which downloaded your publications e.g. educational, commercial, organisation, military, government, library)
    • readership by no of countries + downloads per country + map visualisation
    • referrers ( referred to by google.com.au

ECU School Dashboard on Research Online

  • contact researchonline@ecu.edu.au if you wish for School or Centre level usage statistics

The h-index

The H-index is a measure of research performance that combines research output (number of papers) and research impact (number of citations). It can be applied to the publications of an individual researcher of the publication output of an entire journal.
 

  • How is the H-index calculated?
    Th H-Index is calculated as the number of papers (N) within the given set of publications that have N or more citations.
    Eg.: a researcher has an h-index of 3 if they have 3 publications with 3 or more citations.
           a journal has a h-index of 57 if it has published 57 papers, and each paper has accrued 57 citations
     
  • Where can the h-index be found?
    The h-index is fairly well used in many databases. However, it appears in the Web of Science, Scopus and Google Scholar can generate H-indexes for the authors indexed in their databases. However, it should be noted that the value of the H-index may be different between the databases as the journal titles and years of publication covered by each database can be different. As noted above, the SJR website provides H-index data for journals.