Skip to main content

Research: Author IDs (Identifiers)

Library support for postgraduate students and researchers

Author Disambiguation

Link to source of picture

Author disambiguation - separating same-name authors into identifiable individuals.

Listed on this page are some of the author iDs available for authors and researchers. ORCiD and ResearcherID require the author to initiate the process while the Scopus author ID is created automatically by the Scopus database.

ORCiD iD

Register with ORCID now

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) is an open, non-profit, community-driven effort to create and maintain a registry of unique researcher identifiers and a transparent method of linking research activities and outputs to these identifiers.

  • ORCiD makes it easier for others to find your work and attribute it to you

    • ORCID provides you with a persistent unique 16 digital identifier

    • distinguishes you from every other researcher's persistent digital identifier (ID number) 

    • identifies you from every other researcher from manuscript and grant submission to publication, it supports automated linkages

  • ORCID can unambiguously and at a machine-readable level, link researchers to their research, their funding, their publications (works) both internally and externally

  • Your ORCiD ID is portable and goes with you throughout your career and/or name change

Support for ORCID in Australia

The National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) and Australian Research Council (ARC) encourage all researchers applying for funding to have an ORCID identifier

The use of ORCID may help streamline research administration and reporting for researchers and administering institutions through:

 
Members: 40 institutions - 36 universities, the Heart Research Institute, CSIRO, the Australian Research Council and the National Health and Medical Research Council NHMRC
 

Uptake of ORCID by Researchers and Publishers

Scopus Author Identifier (Elsevier)

Scopus author ID is ORCID compliant and also used by SciVal database.

The Scopus author profile comes with a variety of author metrics including the list of the author's publications indexed by Scopus, total citations, total citations by documents, co-author counts, h-index, etc. The page also provides a Citation alert service (to follow a researcher), Add citations to ORCID (integrates and updates your ORCID iD) and Request author detail corrections (corrections and to merge IDs).

Check your Scopus author ID:

  • A Scopus author ID if is available only if an author has published in a journal indexed by Scopus
  • Scopus author IDs are created by the database
    • click HERE to check if your Scopus Author ID is correct
      • does it only include your publications?
      • do you have multiple Scopus author IDs?
  • Scopus to ORCID video: How to manage your autor profile (video tutorial)
  • your Scopus ID listed publications can be authorised to be pushed to you ORCID account

Researcher ID (Web of Science ) (Thomson Reuters)

ResearcherID information integrates with the Web of Science and is ORCID compliant.

The ResearcherID profile profile comes with a variety of author metrics including the list of the author's publications (ones indexed by Web of Science or pulled in from ORCID), Total articles, times cited, average citations per article, co-authors, h-index etc.

Check your Researcher ID:

  • have you published in journal titles indexed in the Web of Science database?
  • Web of Science database does not generated an author profile
  • you will need register for a Researcher ID at http://www/researcherid.com
  • Author Identifiers in the Web of Science: ResearcherID and ORCID (video tutorial)
  • your ResearcherID both pushes and pulls information from ORCID. However, any metrics available on your Researcher ID do NOT include calculations on items pulled from ORCID.

Google Scholar Citations (Author Profile)

PubMed - My NCBI

My Bibliography is a reference tool that helps you save your citations from PubMed or, if not found there, to manually upload a citations file (eg RIS files from EndNote) or to enter citation information using My Bibliography templates.

My Bibliography provides a centralized place where citations are easily accessed, exported as a file, and made public to share with others

Instructions on how to set up My Bibliography in NCBI