Skip to main content

Research: Research & Citation Databases

Library support for postgraduate students and researchers

Research Citation Databases (Multidisciplinary)

What are citation databases?

Citation databases provide information on:

  • who has cited an article
  • how many times an author has been cited within the database itself
  • database specifi information as each database indexes a different range of source journal i.e.citation data will and does vary between different databases.

The 3 citation databases are:

  • Scopus
  • Web of Science
  • Google Scholar.

Scopus Uses the following Citation Metrics: SJR, SNIP, IPP, Field-Weighted Citation Impact (in Scival)

SJR SCImago Journal Rank
measures the influence of a journal. It takes into account both the number of citations recieved as well as the importance of the citing journal. It normalises for differences in citation behaviour between subject fields allowing the comparison of journals across different subject areas. more about SJR

Where can SJR be found in Scopus database?

  • In the Browse sources page
  • In the Compare journals tool
  • On the Scopus Journal Homepage
  • In Analyze search results - the Source tab

Where can SJR be found outside Scopus database?

CiteScore Metrics (new Ebsco metrics database)
CiteScore calculates the average number of citations received in a calendar year by all items published in that journal in the preceding three years. The calendar year to which a serial title’s issues are assigned is determined by their cover dates, and not the dates that the serial issues were made available online. more about CiteScore

SNIP Source Normalized Impact per Paper
measures contextual citation impact by weighting citations based on the total number of citations in a subject field. more about SNIP

IPP Impact per Publication
measures the ratio of citations per article published in the journal. more about IPP

Other Useful Databases

Annual Reviews - various subjects

Australian Databases

Author level metrics - through SciVal

Resource: SciVal Metrics Guidebook

SciVal is based on output and usage data from Scopus and ScienceDirect.

For each selected metric in the Benchmarking module, you can choose which types of publications to include in the analysis.

Citation Counts - total citations

Citations per Publications - citations for each output

Field-Weighted Citation Impact (FWCI) allows comparisons across disciplines

Field Weighted Citation Impact Metric =   # of citations received by a document
                                                                  expected # of citations for similar documents

FWCI =1    indicates the publications have been cited at world average for similar publications

FWCI >1    above world average for similar publications (e.g. 1.5 indicates outputs have been cited 50% above average)

FWCI <1    below world average for similar publications (e.g. 0.5 indicates outputs have been cited 50% below average)

HINT: Keep track of your database searches - Register with your favourite databases

Some of the benefits of registering with a library database:

  • Save and retrieve your searches and search terms - allowing you to replicate your original search
     
  • Create your own customised topic, journal or author alerts - the database will send you an RSS or email alert whenever new material is published within the guidelines set out in your alert.
     
  • Personalise your viewing preferences

Is this journal peer reviewed?

Research Online: ECU's Open Access Institutional Respository

Databases which provide Journal Information