A Good Starting Point
Dictionaries,encyclopedias, handbooks and other reference works are useful in defining your terms and concepts, understanding terminology and obtaining an overview of the area you are researching.
Reference Sources
Clay's handbook of environmental health [electronic resource] by ISBN: 9780415492850Publication Date: 20th ed. 2011
Definitions, Conversions, and Calculations for Occupational Safety and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9781420012576Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2016- Encyclopaedia of Occupational Health and Safety (ILO) byPublication Date: online edition 2012Open access via the ILO website.
Handbook of human factors and ergonomics [electronic resource] by ISBN: 9781118129067Publication Date: 4th ed. 2012
Handbook of Safety Principles by
Presents recent breakthroughs in the theory, methods, and applications of safety and risk analysis for safety engineers, risk analysts, and policy makers Safety principles are paramount to addressing structured handling of safety concerns in all technological systems. This handbook captures and discusses the multitude of safety principles in a practical and applicable manner. It is organized by five overarching categories of safety principles: Safety Reserves; Information and Control; Demonstrability; Optimization; and Organizational Principles and Practices. With a focus on the structured treatment of a large number of safety principles relevant to all related fields, each chapter defines the principle in question and discusses its application as well as how it relates to other principles and terms. This treatment includes the history, the underlying theory, and the limitations and criticism of the principle. Several chapters also problematize and critically discuss the very concept of a safety principle. The book treats issues such as: What are safety principles and what roles do they have? What kinds of safety principles are there? When, if ever, should rules and principles be disobeyed? How do safety principles relate to the law; what is the status of principles in different domains? The book also features: * Insights from leading international experts on safety and reliability * Real-world applications and case studies including systems usability, verification and validation, human reliability, and safety barriers * Different taxonomies for how safety principles are categorized * Breakthroughs in safety and risk science that can significantly change, improve, and inform important practical decisions * A structured treatment of safety principles relevant to numerous disciplines and application areas in industry and other sectors of society * Comprehensive and practical coverage of the multitude of safety principles including maintenance optimization, substitution, safety automation, risk communication, precautionary approaches, non-quantitative safety analysis, safety culture, and many others The Handbook of Safety Principles is an ideal reference and resource for professionals engaged in risk and safety analysis and research. This book is also appropriate as a graduate and PhD-level textbook for courses in risk and safety analysis, reliability, safety engineering, and risk management offered within mathematics, operations research, and engineering departments. NIKLAS M#65533;LLER, PhD, is Associate Professor at the Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden. The author of approximately 20 international journal articles, Dr. M#65533;ller's research interests include the philosophy of risk, metaethics, philosophy of science, and epistemology. SVEN OVE HANSSON, PhD, is Professor of Philosophy at the Royal Institute of Technology. He has authored over 300 articles in international journals and is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences. Dr. Hansson is also a Topical Editor for the Wiley Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science. JAN-ERIK HOLMBERG, PhD, is Senior Consultant at Risk Pilot AB and Adjunct Professor of Probabilistic Riskand Safety Analysis at the Royal Institute of Technology. Dr. Holmberg received his PhD in Applied Mathematics from Helsinki University of Technology in 1997. CARL ROLLENHAGEN, PhD, is Adjunct Professor of Risk and Safety at the Royal Institute of Technology. Dr. Rollenhagen has performed extensive research in the field of human factors and MTO (Man, Technology, and Organization) with a specific emphasis on safety culture and climate, event investigation methods, and organizational safety assessment.
ISBN: 9781118950708Publication Date: 2018
- The MAK-Collection for Occupational Health and Safety Open Access. The nearly 3,000 publications by the Permanent Senate Commission for the Investigation of Health Hazards of Chemical Compounds in the Work Area (MAK-Commission) provide essential information on hazardous compounds at the workplace. Threshold values and classifications for more than 1,000 substances are given, along with toxicological evaluations and recommended monitoring methods. The MAK-Collection is published in quarterly issues.
- Methods for the Determination of Hazardous Substances (MDHS) guidance byopen access: http://www.hse.gov.uk/pubns/mdhs/
- NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods (NMAM) byPublication Date: 5th ed. 2017Now in its fifth edition, NMAM is continuously updated as new or revised methods are evaluated and their performance verified.
- The OHS Body of KnowledgeResources supported and maintained by the Australian Institute of Health & Safety.
Oxford handbook of occupational health [electronic resource] by ISBN: 0199651620Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2013
Patty's industrial hygiene. Volume 1, Hazard recognition by ISBN: 9781119791515Publication Date: 7th ed. 2021
Patty's Industrial Hygiene. Volume2, Evaluation and Control by ISBN: 9781119791522Publication Date: 7th ed. 2021
Patty's Industrial Hygiene. Volume 3, Physical and Biological Agents by
Volume 3 covers Recognition and Evaluation of Physical Agents and Biohazards. All of the chapters have been updated and a new chapter on Robotics has been added. These subjects are increasing in importance to industrial hygienists.
ISBN: 9781119816218Publication Date: 7th ed. 2021
Patty's Industrial Hygiene. Volume 4, Program Management and Specialty Areas of Practice by
Volume 4 covers environmental and health and safety program management, with a number of new chapters on sustainability, construction health and safety, health and safety of new energies and working with cannabis
ISBN: 9781119816232Publication Date: 7th ed. 2021
