What is a Journal?
Academic Journals publish original research and commentary on recent developments in specific disciplines. Issues are published on a regular basis in a similar way to magazines.
Key Journals
- The Lancet2013 to the present via ScienceDirect.
1992 to 90 days ago via Proquest. - The Lancet Neurology2013 to the present via ScienceDirect.
2002 to 60 days ago via Proquest. - Maturitas Official Journal of the European Menopause and Andropause Society (EMAS). Affiliated with the Australasian Menopause Society (AMS). Maturitas is an international multidisciplinary peer reviewed scientific journal of midlife health and beyond publishing original research, reviews, consensus statements and guidelines, and mini-reviews. The journal provides a forum for all aspects of postreproductive health in both genders ranging from basic science to health and social care.
Annual Reviews Journals Collection
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowSummary: Provides full text access to journals in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Includes: Biomedical/Life Sciences Collection (25 Annual Reviews journals) ; Physical Sciences Collection (13 Annual Reviews journals) ; Social Sciences Collection (8 Annual Reviews journals).
Key Databases
- Embase This link opens in a new windowInternational biomedical and pharmacological database, indexing literature from 1947 to the present. Embase has a broad biomedical scope, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowInternational database indexing biomedical literature. This database is useful for searching for information relating to addiction, biomedical research, diseases, human physiology, health policies, health promotion, nutrition, occupational health, occupational therapy and epidemiological studies.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed database is an internet version of Medline produced by the National Library of Medicine in the United States. PubMed also provides links to molecular and genome databases.
Links are available to full text articles in PubMed Central, as well as other open access articles. However, to ensure that you also have access to journal articles available on subscription through ECU Library, link to PubMed via the Library. PubMed search results will then also include a FindIt link to locate full text articles available via ECU.
Related databases
- Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) This link opens in a new windowAMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments with coverage being mainly European.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA core research database of Nursing and Allied Health information. Additional materials include Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons and continuing Education Modules.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health specifically Psycho-social, Psychological or Human Experiences.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowKey database for sports science, indexing journals and other materials in all aspects of sport.
Research (multidisciplinary, citation) Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
Subject areas include Life Sciences, Health Sciences (with 100% Medline coverage), Physical Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
Evidence - Based Databases
- JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) This link opens in a new windowAn international not-for-profit research and development organisation specialising in evidence-based resources for healthcare professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowPoint of care reference database. A clinical decision support tool known for its breadth of disease coverage, editorial quality and evidence-based methodology.
Database searching tips
1. Find Synonyms (alternative keywords):
- pediatric OR paediatric
- teenagers OR adolescents
2. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem):
- virus* (virus, viruses)
- adolesc* (adolescent, adolescence, adolescents)
4. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search)
- obesity AND children
- stress AND (occupation OR job)
5. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase
- "cell biology"
- "biomedical science"