SubjectGuides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | W

A
Academic Writing
by Pam Thornton, Lyn Leslie - Last Updated May 10, 2012
A Subject Guide providing resources useful to students.

Addiction Studies
by Pam Thornton - Last Updated May 11, 2012
This guide provides information and links about resources relevant to Addiction Studies in the ECU Library and other useful external resources

Aviation
by Karen Lycett - Last Updated Mar 29, 2012

B
Biomedical Science
by Pam Thornton - Last Updated May 10, 2012
This guide provides information and links about resources relevant to Biomedical Science in the ECU Library and other useful external resources

Business Resources
by Maureen Couacaud - Last Updated May 17, 2012

C
Chemistry
by Karen Lycett - Last Updated May 16, 2012
This guide provides information about Chemistry resources in the ECU Library and beyond.

Children and Family Studies
by Maria Woodhouse - Last Updated May 15, 2012

Civil Engineering
by Karen Lycett - Last Updated May 10, 2012

Classical Music
by Amanda Myers - Last Updated Jun 27, 2011
Guide to Library Resources

Community Studies
by Maria Woodhouse - Last Updated Mar 5, 2012

Computer Science
by Karen Lycett - Last Updated May 16, 2012

Contemporary Arts
by Ken Gasmier - Last Updated May 8, 2012
Guide to Library Resources

Counselling
by Maria Woodhouse - Last Updated May 17, 2012
Useful library resources for counselling

Current Event News
by Gordon McIntyre - Last Updated May 8, 2012
Where can I find current event news?

D
Document Delivery
by Janice Chan - Last Updated Mar 22, 2011
VDX user guide and FAQs

E
Education - RPS
by Deb Turner - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
This guide provides information for Education students about resources in the ECU library and beyond.

Education guide
by Graham Connell - Last Updated May 8, 2012
Education Guide


English Language Proficiency
by Pam Thornton, Lyn Leslie - Last Updated May 15, 2012
Resources for those who wish to improve their English language.

Environmental Science
by Karen Lycett - Last Updated May 17, 2012
This guide provides information about Environmental Science resources in the ECU library and beyond.

Evidence-Based Health
by Lesley Hastings - Last Updated Apr 28, 2012
How to find evidence based resources. Aimed at all health science students.

Exercise and Sports Science
by Pam Thornton - Last Updated May 15, 2012
This guide provides information and links about resources relevant to Exercise and Sports Science in the ECU Library and other useful external resources

External Library Services
by Deb Turner - Last Updated Jan 16, 2012
There are a range of services and resources for online, off-campus and off-shore students.

H
Health Law & Ethics
by Pam Thornton, Lesley Hastings - Last Updated May 11, 2012
This guide is aimed at health science students who are studying a law unit as part of their course.

Human Biology
by Pam Thornton - Last Updated May 10, 2012
This guide provides information and links about Human Biology resources in the ECU Library and other useful external resources

Humanities Guide
by Gordon McIntyre - Last Updated May 8, 2012
Guide to Geography, History and Politics

I
Indigenous Australian Studies Guide
by Gordon McIntyre - Last Updated May 8, 2012
A guide for Australian Indigenous Studies


J
Jazz & Contemporary Music
by Amanda Myers - Last Updated Jun 12, 2011
Jazz & Contemporary Music Guide

L
Law and Justice
by Jennifer Moore, Agnes Noronha - Last Updated May 17, 2012

Learning & Organisational Development
by Deb Turner - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012

M
Mechanical Engineering
by Karen Lycett - Last Updated May 10, 2012

Medicine
by Lesley Hastings - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
This guide outlines the main resources that support those student studying medical science and would supplement other more specialised health subject guides.

Midwifery
by Lesley Hastings - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
How to find information for assignments in midwifery.

Music Theatre
by Ken Gasmier - Last Updated Jan 21, 2011

N
Nursing
by Lesley Hastings - Last Updated May 11, 2012
How to find information for your nursing assignments

Nutrition & Dietetics
by Pam Thornton - Last Updated May 14, 2012
This guide provides information and links about resources relevant to Nutrition & Dietetics in the ECU Library and other useful external resources

O
Occupational Safety and Health
by Pam Thornton - Last Updated May 16, 2012
This guide provides information and links about resources relevant to OSH in the ECU Library and other useful external resources

Occupational Therapy
by Pam Thornton - Last Updated May 14, 2012
This guide provides information and links about Occupational Therapy resources in the ECU Library and other useful external resources.

P
Paramedical Science
by Lesley Hastings - Last Updated Apr 11, 2012

Physiotherapy
by Pam Thornton - Last Updated May 14, 2012
This guide provides information and links about Physiotherapy resources in the ECU Library and other useful external resources

Psychology
by Maria Woodhouse - Last Updated May 15, 2012

Public Health
by Pam Thornton - Last Updated May 10, 2012
This guide provides information and links about resources relevant to Public Health in the ECU Library and other useful external resources

Public Relations Guide
by Gordon McIntyre - Last Updated May 8, 2012
Guide to Public Relations

R
Records Management
by Lyn Leslie - Last Updated Mar 7, 2012
Library support

Referencing
by Kathy Little - Last Updated May 11, 2012
Co-authors: Maria Woodhouse and Maureen Couacaud

Research
by Lyn Leslie - Last Updated Oct 14, 2011
Library support for postgraduate students and researchers

S
Security Science
by Karen Lycett - Last Updated May 16, 2012
This guide provides information and links related to Security Science in the ECU library and other useful external resources.

Social Work
by Deb Turner - Last Updated Mar 28, 2012
This guide provides information about Social Work resources in the ECU library and beyond.

South West Arts
by Deb Turner - Last Updated Mar 29, 2012

Speech Pathology
by Maria Woodhouse - Last Updated May 15, 2012
A guide to resources in Speech Pathology

Surf Science
by Deb Turner - Last Updated Apr 19, 2012
This guide provides information about Surf Science resources in the ECU library and beyond.

Systematic Reviews in the Health Sciences
by Pam Thornton, Lesley Hastings - Last Updated Apr 16, 2012
A guide to finding resources for a systematic review in the health sciences.

T
Teaching and Learning
by Lyn Leslie - Last Updated Jan 20, 2012
Library support

Theatre
by Ken Gasmier - Last Updated Mar 11, 2011

W
Women's studies
by Maria Woodhouse - Last Updated Jul 17, 2011
Contains resources for women's studies

Getting Started

ECU Library video tutorials 

Click a link below to view a video clip tutorial on locating resources for your assignments:

Making sense of your reading list

How to recognise the difference between books and journal articles on your reading lists.

How to find references on your reading list

How to find books and journal articles from your reading lists using Library One Search.

Analysing your assignment topic

How to break down your assignments into key concepts and search for these concepts using Library One Search and databases.

Finding a specific journal

How to find a specific journal article using Library One Search.

 

Contacts:

Business and Law

Agnes Noronha  (Faculty Librarian)

Maureen Couacaud (Business)

Jennifer Moore (Law and Justice)

Computing, Health and Science

Lyn Leslie (Faculty Librarian)

Lesley Hastings (Nursing, Midwifery, Paramedical Science, Postgrad Medicine)

Karen Lycett (Engineering, Natural Sciences, Computer & Security Science)

Pam Thornton (Exercise, Biomedical & Health Sciences)

Maria Woodhouse (Psychology & Social Sciences)

Education and Arts

Lutie Sheridan (Faculty Librarian, KK)

Ken Gasmier (WAAPA, Communication and Arts)

Gordon McIntyre (Communication and Arts)

Graham Connell (Education-MTL)

Kathy Little (Education-JOO)